Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Victoria Hall Methodist Church
Norfolk Street
South Yorkshire
S1 2JB


Louise FarrancOverture no.1 in E minor, Op.23
Pyotr TchaikovskySerenade melancolique, Op.26
Clara Schumann4 Pièces caractéristiques, Op.5
Johannes BrahmsSymphony no.2 in D major, Op.73


Charlotte Pinder – violin
George Morton – Conductor

Sheffield Philharmonic Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Join us as we open our 74th Concert Series with a bang!

Louise Farrenc, the French composer and virtuoso pianist, left behind a small but important oeuvre of orchestral repertoire. Her first overture is an 18th century masterpiece and a sparkling opening to the concert. Charlotte Pinder joins us for Tchaikovsky’s devastatingly beautiful Sérénade mélancolique before we give the world premiere of an orchestral arrangement, by Musical Director George Morton, of Clara Schumann’s 4 Pieces Caractéristiques, originally written for solo piano. 2019 marks the 200th anniversary of Schumann’s birth and this evening we celebrate her innovation and seismic impact on classical music. Johannes Brahms’, Clara’s close friend and confidant, second Symphony rounds off the programme!

Concert Poster

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.