Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Wells Cathedral
Cathedral Green


Wolfgang Amadeus MozartMass in C minor, K.427/417a
Ola GjeiloSunrise Mass: The Spheres
Ola GjeiloIdentity
Ola GjeiloThe Ground
Joseph HaydnThe Representation of Chaos from The Creation
Felix MendelssohnPsalm 95, Op.46


Richard Laing – Conductor
Katie Trethewey – Soprano
Rhiannon Llewellyn – Soprano
Andrew Henley – Tenor
Angus McPhee – baritone

Somerset Chamber Choir
Southern Sinfonia

Programme Note

In our Summer 2022 concert in Wells (postponed from 2020 due to COVID), we will perform Mozart’s Mass in C minor, a piece that many critics regard as Mozart's masterpiece in the field of religious composition, and which has a breadth of scale and a grandeur that recalls the great baroque choral masterpieces of Bach and Handel. We are also excited to be performing one of Mendelssohn’s five great Psalms for choir and orchestra, music that is less often performed than the Mozart Mass, but which nevertheless echoes its majestic splendour. Also included is Haydn's orchestral depiction, so ahead of its time, of the imagined chaos before the creation, a moment in time that we hope to echo in two movements from the 'transparent and spacey' Sunrise Mass by the popular Norwegian composer Ola Gjeilo. We will be joined by Southern Sinfonia, one of the most distinctive chamber ensembles currently operating in the UK, and an exceptional line-up of young soloists.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.