Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Wigmore Hall
36 Wigmore St


Ludwig van BeethovenString Quartet no.2 in G major, Op.18 no.2
Ludwig van BeethovenString Quartet no.12 in E flat major, Op.127
Ludwig van BeethovenString Quartet no.7 in F major 'Razumovsky', Op.59 no.1


Elias String Quartet

Programme Note

Thanks to a tempting commission from Prince Franz Joseph Lobkowitz, Beethoven finally wrote his first collection of string quartets in the late 1790s.

The Elias String Quartet places the Op. 18 set’s high-spirited G major quartet in company with the contemplative introspection of his late String Quartet in Eb Op. 127 and the rhythmic vitality and emotional depths of the composer’s first ‘Razumovsky’ Quartet.

Elias String Quartet ©Benjamin Ealovega

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.