Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Wigmore Hall
36 Wigmore St


Michael BerkeleyRe-Inventions
Crawford SeegerSuite for wind quintet
Patrick John JonesNew work (London première)
Hans NielsenWind Quintet Op. 43

Programme Note

Patrick John Jones - New work (London première)

*Co-commissioned by Britten Sinfonia with support from donors to the Musically Gifted campaign, and by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation

The great Danish composer Carl Nielsen’s fondness for wind instruments relates closely to his love of nature. He was inspired to write his Wind Quintet after hearing Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante for four winds; likewise, Michael Berkeley turned to past models for his Re-Inventions, based on the famous two-part Inventions of JS Bach.

The programme includes the première of a new work by Patrick John Jones, the winner of OPUS2014, Britten Sinfonia and Wigmore Hall’s open call for submissions from unpublished UK composers.

Related concerts

This event is part of the following series:

Contemporary Music Series Britten Sinfonia At Lunch

Britten Sinfonia ©Harry Rankin

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.