Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Wigmore Hall
36 Wigmore St


Wolfgang Amadeus MozartString Quartet no.23 in F major, K.590
Johannes BrahmsString Quartet no.1 in C minor, Op.51 no.1
Alban BergLyric Suite


Belcea Quartet

Programme Note

The works in this programme fully complement the artistry, musicianship and temperament of the Belcea Quartet.

The first half opens with the extrovert brilliance of Mozart’s third ‘Prussian’ Quartet before moving to Brahms’s tightly structured String Quartet in C minor Op. 51 No. 1. Berg’s impassioned Lyric Suite, written in response to the composer’s extramarital affair with Hanna Fuchs, was aptly described by his former pupil Theodor W. Adorno as ‘a latent opera’.

Belcea Quartet ©Ronald Knapp

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.