Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Wigmore Hall
36 Wigmore St


Ludwig van BeethovenString Quartet no.13 in B flat major, Op.130
Wolfgang Amadeus MozartString Quintet no.4 in G minor, K.516


Louise Williams – viola

Takács Quartet

Programme Note

It appears that Mozart created his String Quintet in G minor in 1787 as part of a speculative self-publishing venture to tempt amateur subscribers. Out of favour with Vienna’s public, he was forced to sell the piece to another publisher for a poor profit.

The innovative work, now regarded among the greatest of its kind, is paired here with another timeless monument of western classical music, Beethoven’s pioneering String Quartet in B flat Op. 130.

Takács Quartet; Louise Williams viola

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.