Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Wigmore Hall
36 Wigmore St


Ludwig van BeethovenSerenade in D major for String Trio, Op.8
Dmitry ShostakovichString Quartet no.4 in D major, Op.83
Robert SchumannPiano Quintet in E flat major, Op.44


Razumovsky Ensemble

Programme Note

Razumovsky Ensemble
Natalia Prischepenko - violin
David Alberman - violin
Diemut Poppen - viola
Oleg Kogan - cello
Pianist to be announced

Shostakovich’s Fourth String Quartet, written the year after performances of his music were officially forbidden in the Soviet Union, requires its interpreters to strike a balance between open expression and something altogether more introvert.

The Razumovsky Ensemble’s musicians also address the musical and emotional contrasts of Beethoven’s light-hearted Serenade and Schumann’s impassioned Piano Quintet, a genre-defining masterwork.

Natalia Prischepenko ©AndreasMusculus

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.