Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Wigmore Hall
36 Wigmore St


George RushThe Capricious Lovers: Overture
George RushThe Capricious Lovers: 'Thus laugh'd at, jilted and betray'd'
AnonymousPatty of the Mill
Bates WilliamPharnaces: 'In this I fear my latest breath'
Samuel ArnoldThe Maid of the Mill: 'Hist, hist! I hear my mother call'
Egidio DuniThe Maid of the Mill: 'To speak my mind of womankind'
Carl Friedrich AbelSymphony in E flat major, Op.7 no.6
Davide PerezSolimano: 'Se non to moro a lato'
Johann Christian BachEzio: 'Non so d'onde viene'
Felice GiardiniAria 'Quando mai felici siete'
Thomas Augustine ArneArtaxerxes: 'Thou like the glorious sun'
Thomas Augustine ArneArtaxerxes: 'If the river’s swelling waves'
Thomas Augustine ArneThe Guardian Outwitted: 'When from beauty sweetly blooming'
Thomas Augustine ArneThe Guardian Outwitted: Overture


Jessica Cale – Soprano
Alessandro Fisher – Tenor
Ian Page – Conductor

The Mozartists

Programme Note

Ian Page and The Mozartists start their new season with an enticing programme of music composed in London during the 1760s. This was the London that the young Mozart visited in in 1764-65, the London of Dr Johnson and David Garrick, of William Hogarth and Horace Walpole, and music enjoyed unprecedented popularity, not just in the theatres at Haymarket, Drury Lane and Covent Garden but also at house-parties, the famous Bach-Abel concert series and the celebrated Pleasure Gardens at Ranelagh, Vauxhall and Marylebone.

This wide-ranging programme of popular hits from the 1760s features two recent winners of the prestigious Kathleen Ferrier Award – soprano Jessica Cale (making her eagerly anticipated company debut) and tenor and Associate Artist Alessandro Fisher, currently a BBC New Generation Artist – and Ian Page conducts his award-winning period-instrument orchestra.

The Mozartists

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.