Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Wigmore Hall
36 Wigmore St


Robert SchumannViolin Sonata no.1 in A minor, Op.105
Magnus LindbergNew work (World premiere)
~ Interval ~
Erkki-Sven TuurConversio
John AdamsRoad Movies


Leila Josefowicz – violin
John Novacek – piano

Programme Note

Schumann’s subjective reflections and the personal psychological torments expressed in his Violin Sonata No. 1 set the concentrated mood for this recital.

Leila Josefowicz and John Novacek also bring Magnus Lindberg’s Wigmore Hall commission to life and explore the pulsating rhythms and shifting patterns of John Adams’s Road Movies. Estonian composer Erkki-Sven Tüür’s rip-roaring Conversio completes this irresistible programme mix. The composition is co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall, Linda and Stuart Nelson, and by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation

Leila Josefowicz

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.