Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Wigmore Hall
36 Wigmore St


Erwin SchulhoffFive Pieces for String Quartet
Franz SchubertString Quartet no.15 in G major, D.887


Bennewitz Quartet

Programme Note

Rhythmic freedom, humour and the spirit of jazz are among the qualities present in Erwin Schulhoff’s music. The Czech musician was imprisoned by the Nazis and died at Wülzburg concentration camp in 1942. His Five Pieces for String Quartet, first heard at the Salzburg Festival in 1924, reflect their young composer’s huge talent.

They are presented here in company with Schubert’s enchanting String Quartet in G by the Prague-based Bennewitz Quartet.

Bennewitz Quartet

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.