Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Worcester Guildhall
High Street


Edward ElgarNursery Suite (arr. Donald Fraser - world premiere)
Edward ElgarIntroduction and Allegro, Op.47
Doreen CarwithenLento for Strings (arr. Kenneth Woods)
David MatthewsShiva Dances (world premiere)
George WalkerLyric for Strings


Kenneth Woods – Conductor

English String Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

A Jubilee celebration of the unparalleled legacy of British string music, culminating in Elgar’s masterpiece for strings, the Introduction and Allegro. The programme includes a thrilling new work from composer David Matthews written in homage of the Introduction and Allegro, and a new arrangement of Elgar’s Nursery Suite, written to celebrate the birth of Princess Margaret and dedicated to her, Her Majesty The Queen and the Queen Mother. The programme also includes Doreen Carwithen’s touching Lento for Strings and the Lyric for Strings in celebration of the 100th anniversary of the birth of American composer, George Walker.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.