Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


1901 Arts Club
7 Exton Street



Percy GraingerCountry Gardens (arr. for piano by composer)
Percy GraingerHorkstow Grange (arr. for piano by composer)
Percy GraingerGreen Bushes (arr. for piano by composer)
Farrington IainDance Craze
Maurice RavelLa Valse for piano solo
~ Interval ~
Igor StravinskyThe Rite of Spring for four hands


Iain Farrington – piano
John Reid – piano

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

This concert is an evening of dance-inspired music for piano duet, performed by two of London's leading pianists.  Three pieces by Percy Grainger display the influence of folksong and morris dancing, filled with Grainger's characteristic vigour and humour.  The rhythms and harmonies of modern jazz and funk are explored in Iain Farrington's virtuosic Dance Craze.  Maurice Ravel's haunting, sensuous and hypnotic depiction of the waltz finds its fullest expression in La Valse, originally intended as a ballet.  Finally, one of the most revolutionary and astonishing works of ballet music, Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring, is performed in its original piano duet version.

Tickets include a complimentary welcom drink.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.