Queen's Road
SG13 8AY


Prices: £25



– flute
– organ
– Conductor

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Bach’s Suite with its ever popular ‘Air for the G string’ is one of the most celebrated works of the Baroque era. In this version from 1730, Bach brings oboes, trumpets and kettledrums into the fold – to stunning effect! This glorious work is preceded by a work by our Featured Living Composer, David Matthews. Described by the Guardian as ‘…irrepressibly charming…’ this evocative work is flanked by two brilliant and highly distinctive concertos by Malcolm Arnold played by two eminent musicians from Hertfordshire, Emma Halnan and William Whitehead.

The programme was conceived by the late Tom Hammond and is conducted by his close friend Matthew Taylor, in tribute to our much-loved Co-Artistic Director and Festival founder.


Part of Hertfordshire Festival of Music 2022 - find out more here

Hertfordshire Festival of Music 2022

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.