Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace


Jean SibeliusRakastava, Op.14
Edward ElgarCello Concerto in E minor, Op.85
Dmitry Shostakovich2 Pieces for String Octet, Op.11
Dmitry ShostakovichChamber Symphony


Alexey Stadler – cello
Vladimir Ashkenazy – Conductor

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

There’s an abundance of passion and intensity in Vladimir Ashkenazy’s programme. At its heart lies Elgar’s searing Cello Concerto: written in the aftermath of the First World War, it’s a potent elegy for a lost age. Making his UK concerto debut is the astoundingly gifted Russian cellist Alexey Stadler.

Like Shostakovich, Vladimir Ashkenazy experienced at first hand the life of an artist in the Soviet Union. Shostakovich’s Chamber Symphony is an orchestration of his tragic Eighth Quartet, written at white heat and dedicated to ‘the victims of fascism and war’.

Sibelius Rakastava (The Lover) is a real rarity but no less compelling for all that, abounding in brooding atmosphere.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.