Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace


George ButterworthThe Banks of Green Willow
Cecil ColesCortège (from Behind the Lines)
Michael KellyElegy for Strings
Duncan ChapmanNew commission (world premiere)
Jean SibeliusSymphony no.5 in E flat major, Op.82


Christopher Warren-Green – Conductor

Music Junction Participants

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Had the First World War never happened, how different the 20th-century musical landscape would have looked. Composers George Butterworth, Cecil Coles and Frederick Septimus Kelly were all killed in action on the battlefields of the Somme. Tonight they’re reunited, with a work by each of them presented as a single, three-movement symphony. Complementing this is the world premiere of a new commission by Duncan Chapman, performed by the LCO and Music Junction Participants.

As the battles were raging on the Somme, the Finn Jean Sibelius was struggling with his own demons alcoholism and depression€“ while working on his glorious Fifth Symphony, a piece that threw away the rulebook and marked a new beginning in musical history.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.