Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Clifton Cathedral
Clifton Park



Dmitry ShostakovichPiano Concerto no.2 in F major, Op.102
Felix MendelssohnSymphony no.3 in A minor 'Scottish', Op.56


Chris Hopkins – Conductor / piano

Orchestra of the City

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

The Orchestra of the City makes its Bristol debut this Summer with Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No.2. A stunning work of colour and contrast, it flits between rhythmic motifs of mischievous wit and playfulness to tender passages of heart-wrenching beauty, not least in the famous second movement.

Alongside is Mendelssohn’s brooding Scottish Symphony, inspired by a twilight walk around the chapel ruins at Edinburgh’s Holyrood Palace.

Since its first concert in 2003, the Orchestra of the City has given over 60 performances including world premieres and performances alongside acclaimed international soloists across the UK.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.