Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Conway Hall
25 Red Lion Square



Wolfgang Amadeus MozartPiano Quartet in E-flat major, K.493
Ludwig van BeethovenPiano Trio in C minor, Op.1 no.3
Gabriel FauréPiano Quartet no.1 in C minor, Op.15


Simon Callaghan – piano
Jamie Campbell – violin
Rosalind Ventris – viola
Karel Bredenhorst – cello

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Director of Music Simon Callaghan brings together distinguished colleagues in a programme of chamber music greats, in a concert that will also be live-streamed.

Find out more about the performers and repertoire by downloading the evening’s programme

Pre-concert talk by Robert Hugill at 5.30pm in the Brockway Room:

Music among friends

The development of the role of the piano in chamber music in the 19th century, with a detailed look at Faure’s Piano Quartet.

Mozart’s Piano Quartet was one of the first pieces to be written for that combination, and it was music which was regarded as too difficult for amateurs. So throughout the 19th century composers (many of them pianists) would experiment with various combinations of piano and strings in chamber music, in works aimed at the new breed of virtuoso performers.

Simon Callaghan (c) Benjamin Ealovega

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.