Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Holywell Music Room
Holywell Street


Ludwig van BeethovenViolin Sonata no.4 in A minor, Op.23
Ludwig van BeethovenViolin Sonata no.3 in E flat major, Op.12 no.3
Alessandro RollaGrand Duo for Violin and Viola, Op.12 no.3
Ludwig van BeethovenViolin Sonata no.9 in A major 'Kreutzer', Op.47


Natalia Lomeiko – violin
Yuri Zhislin – viola / violin
Sasha Grynyuk – piano

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

The Beethoven and his Colleagues Series, interrupted by the pandemic, resumes with performances by Oxford Philharmonic principals Natalia Lomeiko and Yuri Zhislin. Beethoven’s ‘Kreutzer’ sonata has to be heard to be believed, and can only be heard once a violinist has confounded the notion that this devilish score is ‘impossible to play’, as Rodolphe Kreutzer declared. This sonata is full of new techniques, bursting with unbridled fury and pitting violin and piano against one another in a perpetual struggle, for which we welcome the fitting skills of Natalia Lomeiko and Sasha Grynyuk. They also give us the pent-up energy of the sonata that paved the way for the ‘Kreutzer’ (No. 4), while Yuri Zhislin plays Beethoven’s deeply personal No. 3. The two string players are united for a miniature gem by Alessandro Rolla.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.