Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Humphrey Perkins Community Centre
74-78 Cotes Rd
Barrow Upon Soar
LE12 8JU


Felix MendelssohnOverture 'Ruy Blas', Op.95
Hector BerliozThe Damnation of Faust: Rakoczi March
Hector BerliozThe Damnation of Faust: Dance of the Sylphs
Johannes BrahmsHungarian Dance no.5 in G minor
Pyotr TchaikovskySerenade melancolique, Op.26
Bedřich SmetanaMa Vlast: Vltava 'The Moldau'


Nic Fallowfield – Conductor / violin

Charnwood Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Amongst performances of Viennese favourites from the Strauss family, the orchestra will also perform the excellent curtain raiser Mendelssohn’s overture Ruy Blas, the well-known and much loved Dance of the Sylphs and Rakoczy March from Berlioz comic opera the Damnation of Faust, Brahms Hungarian Dance no 5.and Smetana’s Vltava.

The orchestra will be conducted by its music director Nic Fallowfield, who will also be performing solo violin for Tchaikovsky, Serenade Melancolique.


The Charnwood Orchestra celebrate the New Year in style with the music of Vienna and beyond. Throw off those post-Christmas blues, with an evening of toe tapping Polkas and Waltz’s, along with other classical favourites

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.