Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Phoenix Concert Hall - Fairfield Halls
Park Lane



Richard StraussOboe Concerto, TrV 292
Felix MendelssohnSymphony no.4 in A major 'Italian', Op.90


Olivier Stankiewicz – oboe
Mateusz Moleda – Conductor

London Mozart Players

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

A chance encounter at the end of World War Two between composer Richard Strauss and a young American solider, a professional oboist in civilian life, planted the seed of an idea that flourished into the finest oboe concerto written in the 20th century. Although seemingly light and playful, Strauss’ Oboe Concerto is exceptionally difficult, with circular breathing a pre-requisite. We are delighted to showcase a young oboist at the start of his career, YCAT artist Olivier Stankiewicz, who performs the solo, under the baton of young conductor Mateusz Moleda. The programme also includes Mendelssohn’s jaunty and optimistic Italian Symphony. This concert will be filmed before a socially-distancing audience at Fairfield Halls, Croydon, where the London Mozart Players have their residency, and streamed online as part of the LMP Classical Club series. Enjoy the whole 8-concert series online via LMP’s Classical Club, tickets just £12 each or £50 for the full 8-concert series if you book before 31 October (£60 thereafter).

Bows and Oboes

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.