Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


St John the Evangelist Church
Sylvan Road
Upper Norwood

SE19 2RX


Sergei ProkofievSymphony no.1 in D major 'Classical', Op.25
Robert SchumannCello Concerto in A minor, Op.129


Maciej Kulakowski – cello

London Mozart Players

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

London Mozart Players’ online 8-concert ‘Classical Club’ series launches with Prokofiev’s effervescent ‘Classical’ Symphony, which cleverly juxtaposes 20th-century style with the traditional four-movement symphony – with some added parody and humour. This is contrasted with Schumann’s masterful Cello Concerto, performed by talented young cellist and YCAT artist, Maciej Kulakowski. A hugely romantic work, it is full of passionate melodies that soar against an unobtrusive orchestral accompaniment. Filmed before a socially-distancing audience at the Church of St John the Evangelist in Upper Norwood – the London Mozart Players’ home venue, this concert will be a real celebration of the best in classical music, and a truly thrilling reunion of players and audience. Enjoy the whole 8-concert series online via LMP’s Classical Club, tickets just £12 each or £50 for the full 8-concert series if you book before 10 October (£60 thereafter).

Classical Club: A Classical Celebration!

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.