Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


St Francis of Assisi Church
Ravenswood Ave
West Wickham



Wolfgang Amadeus MozartCosi fan tutte: Overture
Richard StraussOboe Concerto, TrV 292
~ Interval ~
Richard StraussSerenade for 13 Wind Instruments in E-flat major, Op.7
Camille Saint-SaensSymphony no.2, Op.55


David Hedley – oboe
Felicity Cliffe – Conductor
Lynn Cook – Leader

Hayes Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

In 1945 American GIs arrived at the house of Richard Strauss in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. John de Lancie was a corporal and principal oboist with the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra. As Richard Strauss came down the stairs to meet them he announced himself as the composer of Der Rosencavalier. John de Lancie asked him if he had considered writing an oboe concerto. The reply was 'no', but sometime later Strauss composed his only oboe concerto. David Hedley is the soloist in this performance.

Felicity Cliffe also conducts the Hayes Symphony Orchestra in Strauss' wind serenade, Mozart's overture to Cosi fan Tutti and Saint-Saens' 2nd Symphony.

This concert marks the last of Lynn Cook's role as leader. She has provided the orchestra with many years of dedicated service.

Hayes Symphony Orchestra: ‘Wind Power’

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.