Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


St John's Smith Square
Smith Square
City of Westminster



Malcolm WilliamsonSantiago de Espada
Arthur BlissMiracle in the Gorbals
~ Interval ~
Aaron CoplandAppalachian Spring, ballet


Russell Keable – Conductor

Kensington Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

KSO’s 60th Season continues with Malcolm Williamson’s overture based on the legend of St James and the Spanish Reconquista, Santiago de Espada, and two classic 1940s ballet scores: Bliss’s drama Miracle in the Gorbals is a dark tale of murder and magic in the slums of Glasgow. In contrast, Copland’s sublime Appalachian Spring is the quintessential evocation of the American landscape.

Appalachian Spring

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.