Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


St Martin-in-the-Fields
Trafalgar Square


Ralph Vaughan WilliamsThe Lark Ascending
Wolfgang Amadeus MozartSerenade no.13 for strings in G major 'Eine kleine Nachtmusik', K.525
Edward ElgarSerenade for String Orchestra in E Minor, Op.20
Pyotr TchaikovskySerenade for String Orchestra, Op.48


Ruth Rogers – violin

London Mozart Players

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Vaughan Williams’ pastoral romance The Lark Ascending is the centrepiece of a programme of ravishing music that brings the countryside into the centre of London. This glorious piece, voted No.1 in the 2019 Classic FM Hall of Fame, features a soaring violin solo that depicts a lark serenely ascending to lofty heights. The bucolic theme continues with exquisite serenades from Elgar and Tchaikovsky, each evoking a wistful longing for times past. Mozart’s ever-popular  serenade Eine Kleine Nachtmusik provides a joyful opening to this concert.

London Mozart Players celebrates its 70th anniversary in 2019. Known for its innovative programming, the orchestra’s repertoire ranges from the treasures of the Baroque through to genre-crossing contemporary music. LMP performs all over the UK and abroad, and is the resident orchestra at Croydon’s Fairfield Halls, which reopens with a gala concert in September.

Ruth Rogers (violin) studied with Itzhak Rashkovsky and Hermann Krebbers. Described as ‘the finest of the younger generation of violinists’ (Musical Opinion), Ruth is in demand as soloist, leader and chamber musician. Ruth has been a co-leader of the London Mozart Players since 2015.



The London Mozart Players at St Martin-in-the-Fields

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.