Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


The Capitol
North Street
West Sussex
RH12 1RG


Franz Schubert6 German Dances, D.820 (orch. Webern)
Johannes BrahmsPiano Quartet no.1 in G minor, Op.25 (orch. Schoenberg)
Alban BergViolin Concerto


Steve Dummer – Conductor
Mandhira de Saram – violin

Horsham Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

The Horsham Symphony Orchestra opens its spring concert at the Capitol with a performance of Schubert’s Six German Dances. Originally written for piano, we perform the simple but beautiful orchestral arrangement by Anton Webern.

This will be followed by a performance of Berg’s Violin Concerto, a hauntingly beautiful 20th century masterpiece and we are delighted to welcome Mandhira De Saram as our soloist. Dedicated 'to the memory of an angel', after the death of Alma Mahler’s young daughter, this marvellous concerto is full of emotional and musical intensity.

The concert closes with the orchestral transcription of Brahms Piano Quartet in G minor, colourfully orchestrated by Arnold Schoenberg.

Please join us for a wonderful evening.

Schubert (arr. Webern): Six German Dances D. 820 

Berg: Violin Concerto

Brahms (arr. Schoenberg): Piano Quartet in G minor

Steve Dummer conductor

Barry Sutton leader

Mandhira De Saram violin

Tickets: Adults £ 14, Concessions (over 60) £ 12, Under 18’s £ 5

For more information, please visit

Concert Poster

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.