Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


The Capitol
North Street
West Sussex
RH12 1RG


Sergey ProkofievRomeo and Juliet, Op.64: Excerpts
Leonard BernsteinWest Side Story: Symphonic Dances
Hector BerliozRomeo et Juliette: Love Scene


Horsham Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Horsham Symphony Orchestra

Saturday 26 November 2016, 7.30pm

The Capitol


Horsham Symphony Orchestra opens its 2016-2017 concert season with a Shakespeare-themed evening, all three works being inspired by the tale of Romeo and Juliet. The concert opens with excerpts from Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet, followed by a performance of Berlioz’s sublime Scène d’amour from Roméo et Juliette.


After the interval the orchestra performs Bernstein’s Symphonic Dances from West Side Story.


Please join us for wonderful evening.


Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet Suite (selected excerpts)

Berlioz: Scène d’amour from Roméo et Juliette

Bernstein: Symphonic Dances from West Side Story


Steve Dummer: conductor

Rachel Ellis: leader

Tickets: Adults £ 14, Concessions (over 60) £ 12, Under 18’s £ 5 available from The Capitol Box Office on 01403 750220 and

For more information visit

November 2016 Concert Poster

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.