Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace


Ludwig van BeethovenSymphony no.8 in F major, Op.93
Jean SibeliusViolin Concerto in D minor, Op.47
Johannes BrahmsSymphony no.2 in D major, Op.73


Mario Venzago – Conductor
Chloë Hanslip – violin

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

The great Berner Symphonie-Orchester performs its second concert in our Zurich International Orchestra Series 2014-15, a profoundly romantic programme.

Beethoven'€™s much loved and shortest symphony, the Eighth, is recognized as his most playful and high-spirited; full of tumultuous twists and turns and culminating in one fast paced breath-taking finale, Tchaikovsky deemed the work as €˜one of the greatest symphonic masterpieces of Beethoven.

The talented Chloe Hanslip, applauded as the most charismatic violinist the UK has produced in recent years€™ joins the orchestra to play Jean Sibelius only violin concerto. The piece is obsessive and driven, departing from the often lighter accompaniments of many other concertos and is perfectly paired with Brahms warm and melodic Symphony No. 2, which follows after the interval.

The first concert is on Wednesday 8 April.

Part of the Zurich International Orchestra Series 2014-15

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.