Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace


Ludwig van BeethovenThe Creatures of Prometheus, Op.43: Overture
Ludwig van BeethovenPiano Concerto no.5 in E flat major 'Emperor', Op.73 (arr. Lachner)
~ Interval ~
Ludwig van BeethovenSymphony no.7 in A major, Op.92


Michael Sanderling – Conductor
Freddy Kempf – piano

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

The Dresden Philharmonic and its conductor Michael Sanderling join us for a series of three concerts exploring the music of Beethoven with pianist Freddy Kempf.

The third and final concert brings to the series further grandeur. Prometheus Overture, written for the 1801 ballet The Creatures of Prometheus, encapsulates drama through its bold changes of key and dynamics and is a perfect introduction to Beethovens Piano Concerto No. 5, known as the Emperor Concerto due to its heroic spirit.

The concert culminates in the regal Seventh Symphony, famous for its mesmerising second movement (used in the film The Kings Speech) and its unrestrained finale, supposedly summed up by Tchaikovsky as '€˜a whole series of images, full of unrestrained joy, full of bliss and pleasure of life.

The Dresden Philharmonic performs further Beethoven concerts on Thursday 18 June and Saturday 20 June.

Part of the Zurich International Orchestra Series 2014-15

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.