Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace


Karol SzymanowskiStabat Mater
Ludwig van BeethovenSymphony no.9 in D minor 'Choral', Op.125


Jacek Kaspszyk – Conductor
Claire Meghnagi – Soprano
Hannah Pedley – mezzo-soprano
Andrew Rees – Tenor
Paul Carey-Jones – baritone

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Founded in 1901, the Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra is one of Poland’s oldest musical institutions and continues to attract outstanding soloists and conductors from all over the world. Tonight they are led by music and artistic director Jacek Kaspszyk to perform two major choral works, including the first performance at Cadogan Hall of Beethoven’s monumental Ninth Symphony.

The orchestra begins the evening with Szymanowski’s deeply personal work, his Stabat Mater. This is followed by Beethoven’s final symphony, which sees Friedrich von Schiller’s poem Ode to Joy set to music and sung by a large, full chorus in the final movement. Symphony No. 9 premiered in 1824 and broke many patterns of the Classical style of Western music, one of which was its inclusion of a chorus in a genre that was understood to be exclusively instrumental.

The uplifting composition, which many consider Beethoven’s greatest work, has been used as a symbol of peace worldwide. The symphony holds emotional significance; by the time Beethoven had started working on this composition, he was already completely deaf.

Part of the Zurich International Orchestra Series 2014-15

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.