Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace


Ludwig van BeethovenFidelio, Op.72
Pietro MascagniCavalleria Rusticana: Intermezzo
Edvard GriegPiano Concerto in A minor, Op.16
Antonín DvořákSymphony no.7, Op.70


Alexandra Dariescu – piano
Alessandro Fabrizi – Conductor

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Fidelio was Beethoven’s only opera, yet it spawned no fewer than four overtures. After the gravitas of the three Leonore overtures, Beethoven wanted to produce something more adventurous, resulting in this spirited work.

After the romantic beauty of Mascagni’s famous Intermezzo from his opera Cavalleria rusticana, Grieg’s Piano Concerto, with its scintillating opening is performed by acclaimed pianist Alexandra Dariescu.

Dvořák’s Symphony No. 7 perfectly balances dramatic power and irresistible lyricism. With its arresting opening, gorgeous slow movement, dancing Scherzo and thrilling Finale, this is one of the greatest pieces Dvořák ever wrote. Not to be missed.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.