Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Conway Hall
25 Red Lion Square



Tobias MatthayPiano Quartet in One Movement, Op.20
Dorothy HowellAdagio & Caprice
Dorothy HowellQuartet in D minor
John Blackwood McEwenNugae
Edward ElgarPiano Quintet in A Minor, Op.84


Simon Callaghan – piano

Berkeley Ensemble

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

To close our season, Conway Hall’s Artistic Director of Music Simon Callaghan joins the Berkeley Ensemble in a performance of Elgar’s only Piano Quintet, composed in a particularly fruitful period during which Elgar also produced his Violin Sonata and the famous Cello Concerto.

Before the interval the ensemble will showcase English composer Dorothy Howell (1898-1982), whose music has recently begun to attract the attention it has long deserved, helped in no small part by her featuring in Leah Broad’s new group biography, Quartet.  Berkeley Ensemble presents a recital programme exploring Howell in her milieu, with her music alongside works by her teachers at the Royal Academy of Music, Tobias Matthay and John Blackwood McEwen, and that of Edward Elgar, a towering figure of her generation, whose grave Howell tended to in the Malvern Hills. Some of the most wonderful British music to send us off for the Long Summer Break!

“a performance of shimmering intensity” – Gramophone

Berkeley Ensemble with Simon Callaghan

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.