Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


De Montfort Hall
Granville Road


Fanny Mendelssohn-HenselOverture in C Minor
Antonín DvořákSymphony no.8, Op.88
Antonín DvořákCello Concerto in B minor, Op.104, B.191


Gergely Madaras – Conductor
Andrei Ionita – cello

Philharmonia Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

From wistful melodies to jubilant brass, experience the full range of Dvořak’s compositional mastery in one vivid evening of music.

But first, ten minutes of wit and sparkle. Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel’s only known orchestral work grows from a peaceful opening into a fleet-footed tune that effortlessly darts and dives across the orchestra, full of virtuosic strings and expressive woodwind.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.