Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


De Montfort Hall
Granville Road


Benjamin BrittenFour Sea Interludes, Op.33a
Pyotr TchaikovskySymphony no.2, Op.17
Dmitry ShostakovichCello Concerto no.1 in E flat major, Op.107


Elim Chan – Conductor
Sol Gabetta – cello

Philharmonia Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Musical fireworks open our Leicester season as Sol Gabetta takes centre stage in Shostakovich’s fiery Cello Concerto No. 1, ahead of Tchaikovsky’s punchy Second Symphony.

Elim Chan first conducted the Philharmonia in 2017, on her meteoric rise to a busy international career. She returns at the request of audience members and musicians alike.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.