Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Ferneham Hall
Osborn Road
PO16 7DB


Felix MendelssohnThe Fair Melusine, Op.32: Overture
Wolfgang Amadeus MozartSymphony no.41 in C major 'Jupiter', K.551
Richard StraussOboe Concerto, TrV 292


James Turnbull – oboe
Robin Browning – Conductor

Havant Chamber Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Mendelssohn was a master of the concert overture and Havant Chamber Orchestra begin this concert with one of his finest – ‘The Fair Melusine’.  This was inspired by the dramatisation of a folk tale about a woman who turns into a mermaid every Saturday and then into a dragon when her husband disobeys orders and spies on her!

Also on the programme are two works which came late in their composers’ lives.  The Symphony no. 41 was the last that Mozart wrote.  It was nicknamed the ‘Jupiter’ but as far as we know this was not Mozart’s idea and actually happened some years after Mozart’s death when the piece was being performed in London.

Richard Strauss lived a considerably longer life than Mozart and was 80 years old when he was visited by an American oboist who suggested he write an Oboe Concerto.  The work was premiered in February 1946 in Zurich and is lyrical and a delight to listen to.

James Turnbull photo by Catrin Arwell

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.