Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Ferneham Hall
Osborn Road
PO16 7DB


Richard StraussSerenade for 13 Wind Instruments in E-flat major, Op.7
Max BruchViolin Concerto no.1 in G minor, Op.26
~ Interval ~
Ludwig van BeethovenSymphony no.7 in A major, Op.92


Savitri Grier – violin
Robin Browning – Conductor

Havant Chamber Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

We loved working with Savitri Grier so much in May 2015 that we invited her back to play the ever-popular Violin Concerto No. 1 by Bruch.  At number 5 in Classic FM’s ‘Ultimate Hall of Fame’ this piece is up there with the very best!

Beautiful melodies are abundant in this concert which opens with just the wind players of the Havant Chamber Orchestra performing the Serenade for 13 Wind Instruments by Richard Strauss.  Strauss’s father was a horn player and Richard showed a particular affinity for wind instruments, writing two concertos for horn, one for oboe and several other pieces for groups of wind instruments – this first one at the age of just 22.

The concert concludes with the joyful Symphony No. 7 by Beethoven.  This was such a huge hit at its premiere in 1813 that the second movement had to be encored immediately and the whole concert was repeated!

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.