Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Ferneham Hall
Osborn Road
PO16 7DB


Ludwig van BeethovenThe Creatures of Prometheus, Op.43: Overture
Ludwig van BeethovenSymphony no.5 in C minor, Op.67
Ludwig van BeethovenPiano Concerto no.3 in C minor, Op.37


Roger Owens – piano
Robin Browning – Conductor

Havant Chamber Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

It’s Beethoven night with the Havant Chamber Orchestra!  The stunning fifth Symphony rounds off a feast of great works from the great man.

The Overture to The Creatures of Prometheus provides a suitably dramatic opening to the concert.  It is short and to the point, being the opening to a full ballet score written by Beethoven in 1801 for performances in Vienna, but it is a perfect demonstration of the composer’s feel for drama and storytelling.

Beethoven is believed to have composed his third Piano Concerto a year earlier than Prometheus, in 1800, but it was not performed until 1803 and even then, contemporary accounts say that Beethoven, who was himself the soloist, played it largely from memory as he had not yet written it all down!  The Orchestra are very much looking forward to working with pianist Roger Owens on this fantastic concerto.

Roger Owens

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.