Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Mote Hall
Mote Avenue
Maidstone Leisure Centre

ME15 7SU


Edward ElgarIntroduction and Allegro, Op.47
Max BruchViolin Concerto no.1 in G minor, Op.26
~ Interval ~
Robert SchumannSymphony no.3 'Rhenish', Op.97


Benjamin Baker – violin
Brian Wright – Conductor

Maidstone Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Strings dominate the first half of this programme, starting with Elgar’s wonderfully evocative Introduction and Allegro. Its beautiful “Welsh tune” and “devil of a fugue”, as he called it, make it one of Elgar’s most endearing works. As can be said for Bruch’s very popular 1st Violin Concerto. Our soloist is a brilliant young virtuoso from New Zealand, Benjamin Baker. There’s a thrilling and bouyant optimism about Schumann’s “Rhenish” Symphony, which includes a superb musical portrait of Cologne Cathedral.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.