Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Bromsgrove School
Routh Concert Hall
Worcester Road

B61 7DU


Wolfgang Amadeus MozartSerenade no.13 for strings in G major 'Eine kleine Nachtmusik', K.525
Mieczyslaw WeinbergConcertino for Violin and String Orchestra, Op.42
Doreen CarwithenLento for Strings (arr. Kenneth Woods)
Pyotr TchaikovskyString Quartet no.3 in E flat minor, Op.30 (arr. Kenneth Woods)


Kenneth Woods – Conductor
Zoe Beyers – violin

English String Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Tchaikovsky was possibly the greatest of all Russian composers, and his Third String Quartet, heard here in a powerful new arrangement for string orchestra by Kenneth Woods, is one of his most beautiful and emotional works. The concert’s Russian theme also embraces the beautiful Concertino for Violin by Mieczysław Weinberg, whose 100th birthday we celebrate in this performance by the ESO’s own Zoë Beyers, one of today’s leading violinists. The concert opens with Mozart’s evergreen A Little Night Music, and a great night of music it will be.

Zoë Beyers

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.