Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Sheldonian Theatre
Broad Street


Wolfgang Amadeus MozartPiano Concerto no.24 in C minor, K.491
Joseph HaydnSymphony no.104 in D major 'London', Hob.I:104


Stephen Kovacevich – Piano

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra
Oxford Piano Festival

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

For many listeners K. 491 is the ultimate Mozart piano concerto, with a dark, mysterious, and passionate intensity hard to believe in concert music of the mid-1780s. And whether or not it’s the greatest, it certainly ranks among the grandest in terms of scoring and duration. The effect on early audiences must have been startling, prompting Beethoven to say ‘we shall never be able to do anything like it’. And its mysteries extend to the original score (a prized possession of the Royal College of Music in London), which gives no tempo markings: they can only be deduced from other sources by detective work. As a pre-eminent Mozartian who knows this music inside out, Stephen Kovacevich can be relied on for good judgement. As can the accomplished players of the Oxford Philharmonic under Marios Papadopoulos, who pair the piece with what is literally the ultimate Haydn symphony, No. 104 – the last in his catalogue, known as the ‘London’.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.