Market Place
OX10 0EG


Prices: £18, under-25s free
Season tickets: £110 for nine concert season
Booking line: 07968 703079



– cello
– Piano

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Cara Berridge is well-known to Wallingford audiences as the cellist of the Sacconi Quartet; she also enjoys solo recitals and playing with various chamber orchestras. She graduated from the Royal College of Music in 2002 and received a Postgraduate Diploma and Advanced Diploma with Distinction. Cara plays a Nicolaus Gagliano cello from 1781, generously on loan to her from the Royal Society of Musicians.

Claude Debussy wrote his Cello Sonata in 1915, when he was already struggling with the cancer which would prove fatal. It is in classical form, but infused with adventurous twentieth-century harmonic language.

Beethoven’s fifth, and last, Cello Sonata op. 102 no. 2 is one of his most dramatic works, written for Joseph Linke, cellist of the Schuppanzigh Quartet that premiered many of Beethoven’s string quartets.

The brief and animated Papillon displays Fauré’s skill at spinning out atmosphere and melody. It is one of his most performed pieces.

Frédéric Chopin wrote almost exclusively for solo piano; his Cello Sonata is the most significant of his chamber works, full of tension, romantic impulses and subtle melodies.

Cara Berridge

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.