Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


St Mary-le-More Church
Market Place
OX10 0EG


Rebecca ClarkePrelude, Allegro and Pastorale
Arthur BlissClarinet Quintet, F.20
Johannes BrahmsClarinet Quintet in B minor, Op.115


David Campbell – clarinet

Sacconi Quartet

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

We are delighted to welcome again the ever-popular Sacconi Quartet, who are noted for their unanimous and compelling ensemble and fresh and imaginative approach to music. The quartet has now celebrated 20 years together, still with the original four members. For this concert they are joined by the distinguished clarinettist David Campbell, who has made a speciality of the quintet repertoire.

The Brahms quintet was a late masterpiece, inspired by the playing of Richard Mühlfeld, which has become a corner-stone of the repertoire.

Arthur Bliss wrote his lyrical and expressively melodic post-Romantic quintet in 1932, partly in memory of his brother, a clarinettist, who had been killed on the Somme.

The music of Rebecca Clarke (1886-1979) is only now being rescued from undeserved obscurity. Born in England, and a pupil of Stanford at the Royal College of Music, she was a professional viola-player before settling in America.

Sacconi Quartet and David Campbell

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.