Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


St Saviour's Church
25 Sandpit Lane
St Albans


Jean SibeliusPohjola's Daughter, Op.49
Johannes BrahmsPiano Concerto no.1 in D minor, Op.15
Jean SibeliusEn Saga, Op.9


Alissa Firsova – piano
Jennifer Wigram – Leader
Tom Hammond – Conductor

St Albans Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Sibelius is widely recognised as Finland’s greatest composer, and is particularly known for his patriotic tone poems.

Brahms’s Piano Concerto No.1 was his first-performed orchestral work. It started as a piano duet before becoming a symphony, and finally after four years was completed as a concerto.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.