Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Wells Cathedral
Cathedral Green


Johann Sebastian BachAllein Gott in der Hoh sei Ehr, BWVs 715, 711, 717
Johann Sebastian BachPrelude and Fugue in B minor, BWV 544
Johann Sebastian BachChrist lag in Todesbanden, BWV 695


Matthew Owens – organ

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Bach Complete Organ Works: Recital 09

The ninth in the bi-monthly series of organ recitals surveying the complete organ works of J.S. Bach over six years – this year featuring the miscellaneous chorale preludes, alongside the ‘free’ organ works – played by Matthew Owens (Organist and Master of the Choristers, Wells Cathedral): Chorale Preludes for Easter –Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr, BWVs 715, 711, 717; Christ lag in Todesbanden, BWV 718; Fantasia super: Christ lag in Todesbanden, BWV 695; Prelude and Fugue in B minor, BWV 544

Admission: free  Retiring collection in aid of Wells Cathedral Music

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.