Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Abbey URC
1 Abbey Water
SO51 8EJ


Francis PoulencSonata for violin and piano, FP 119
Sergei Rachmaninov12 Romances, Op.21: Selection
Mark SimpsonAn Essay of Love
Leoš JanáčekString Quartet no.1 'Kreutzer Sonata'


Emma Roijackers – violin
Ziteng Fan – piano
Sophia Yan Jin – soprano
Luke Hsu – violin
Laura Rickard – violin / artistic director
Natalie Loughran – viola
Rainer Crosett – Cello

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Inspired by Tolstoy’s novella, Janáček’s first quartet tells the tale of obsessive passion and deadly jealousy.

Essays of love

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.