Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Eastgate Theatre & Arts Centre
Scottish Borders
EH45 8AD


Maurice RavelString Quartet in F major
Pēteris VasksString Quartet no.4
~ Interval ~
Franz SchubertString Quartet no.14 in D minor 'Death and the Maiden', D.810


Navarra String Quartet

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Since its formation in 2002, the Navarra Quartet has built an international reputation as one of the most dynamic and poetic string quartets of today.

In his fourth quartet, written in 1999, Latvian composer Pēteris Vasks reflects on the 20th century – it is sombre in mood, but healed by “love’s power and idealism”. The Ravel quartet, suave, sensuous and full of French panache, is one of the most popular chamber works of the 20th century.

The programme ends with one of the greatest and best-loved of all string quartets, written as Schubert contemplated his own early death.

For full details, please visit the Music in Peebles website.

“The playing is nothing short of sensational, the precision and enormous dynamics absolutely thrilling” (Yorkshire Post)

Navarra String Quartet

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.