Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Heritage Centre
Roe Street
SK11 6UT


Jean SibeliusRakastava, Op.14
Wolfgang Amadeus MozartClarinet Concerto in A major, K.622
Ralph Vaughan WilliamsThe Lark Ascending
Joseph HaydnSymphony no.6 in D major 'Le Matin', Hob.I:6


Elizabeth Jordan – basset clarinet
Nicholas Ward – Director

Northern Chamber Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

We begin our season showcasing many of our excellent principal players. Elizabeth Jordan gives us her fine interpretation of Mozart’s gorgeous Clarinet Concerto on the basset clarinet, for which the piece was originally written. Vaughan Williams’ much-loved Lark Ascending finds Artistic Director Nicholas Ward evoking a nostalgic scene of the English countryside. Listening to Sibelius’ wonderfully atmospheric Rakastava, it is hard to imagine that he originally composed this for unaccompanied male chorus. Haydn’s Symphony no 6 nicknamed ‘Le Matin’, opens with a picture of the sun rising. It is the first of three symphonies that are characterised by unusual virtuoso writing across the orchestral ensemble, most notably the double bass.

Elizabeth Jordan, clarinet

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.