Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Heritage Centre
Roe Street
SK11 6UT


Wolfgang Amadeus MozartEine kleine Nachtmusik, K.525: 1st movement
Kurt SchwertsikNow you hear me, now you don’t
Frederick Delius2 Aquarelles
Antonín DvořákSerenade for Strings, Op.22


Colin Currie – Percussion
Nicholas Ward – Director

Northern Chamber Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Our first concert of the New Year brings a programme that begins and ends with two great string serenades. The much abused term masterpiece must unquestionably be applied to Mozart’s Little Night Music, composed towards the end of his short life. Dvorák’s Serenade, in five movements, contains a waltz, a scherzo and one of his loveliest slow movements. The high-spirited finale eventually returns to the benign calm of the opening section, giving an arch-like structure to the whole piece.

We welcome the marvellously talented Scottish percussionist, Colin Currie. He is playing an entertaining piece by contemporary Viennese composer Kurt Schwertsik, whose works are characterised by his particular exploration of tonality, musical irony and humour.

Colin Currie, percussion

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.