Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Heritage Centre
Roe Street
SK11 6UT


Gioachino RossiniString Sonata No.4 in B flat major
Wolfgang Amadeus MozartPiano Concerto no.9 in E flat major 'Le Jeunehomme', K.271
Jean SibeliusSuite champĂȘtre, Op. 98b
Wolfgang Amadeus MozartSymphony no.33 in B-flat major, K.319


Martin James Bartlett – piano
Nicholas Ward – Director

Northern Chamber Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Winner of the BBC Young Musician competition in 2014, Martin James Bartlett, who previously appeared with the NCO in 2016, returns to Macclesfield. He plays Mozart’s early masterpiece composed in Salzburg when he was 21, which Alfred Brendel called “one of the greatest wonders of the world” and Alfred Einstein dubbed “Mozart’s Eroica.”

Rossini was only twelve years old when he wrote his delightful string sonatas. These are scored for an ensemble of violins, cellos and double bass (no violas!). Sibelius’ Suite Champêtre is a light-hearted pastoral piece full of rustic charm.

The concert concludes with Mozart’s Bb symphony, composed in Salzburg in 1779. A gravely beautiful slow movement, sprightly outer movements – the minuet was a later addition – show his usual masterful use of the wind.

Martin James Bartlett, piano

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.