Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


National Centre for Early Music
St Margaret's Church



Franz SchubertViolin Sonata in A major 'Duo', D.574
Franz SchubertImpromptu in G flat major, D.899 no.3
Ludwig van BeethovenViolin Sonata no.10 in G major, Op.96


Cecilia Bernardini – violin
Keiko Shuchijo – fortepiano

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Duo Keiko Shichijo and Cecilia Bernardini, who appeared in the Jumpstart Jr Day at YEMF in 2014, take us into the world of the fully-developed sonata for violin and fortepiano in two masterworks by Schubert and Beethoven. Though written only five years apart, their natures could hardly be more different, with Beethoven’s sonata contemplative and all-encompassing, and Schubert’s light and carefree. They are linked by the most dreamingly romantic of Schubert’s impromptus for solo piano.

Cecilia Bernardini & Keiko Shichijo

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.