Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


York Minster


William ByrdEmendemus in melius
Arvo PärtNunc Dimittis
William ByrdO lux beata Trinitas
Thomas TallisWhen Jesus went
Thomas TallisMiserere nostri
William ByrdAd Dominum cum tribularer
William ByrdMiserere mihi Domine
William ByrdDiliges Dominum
William ByrdChriste qui lux es et dies
Arvo PärtThe Deer’s Cry
Arvo PärtThe Woman with the Alabaster Box


Harry Christophers – Conductor

The Sixteen

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

The Sixteen
directed by Harry Christophers

The Deer’s Cry

Music by Byrd, Tallis and Arvo Pärt

Although separated by over four centuries, the music of the Elizabethan Englishman William Byrd and the contemporary Estonian Arvo Pärt makes for a perfect match. Both composers spent many years facing adversity and persecution, and both sought solace through their sacred music. Together with works by another great master of sacred music, Byrd’s teacher Thomas Tallis, they contribute to what should be another magical occasion in the nave of the glorious York Minster. Works include lavish Latin motets by Byrd, Tallis’s When Jesus went, and Pärt’s The Deer’s Cry and Nunc dimittis.

The Sixteen

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.